Autumn Inspiration

 It all started with a Fall colors challenge from Staci, a member of our City-o-Clay group. “Look out your windows, go outside and let the bright colors of Fall inspire you to make something”.

Oh fine, swell … I live in Florida, it’s GREEN, Staci. The temptation to go spray paint the palms in shades of yellow and red so I could get in the Fall mood was immediately squashed when the hubs got wind of that stroke of genius. Oh well, back to browsing the web for lovely Fall pictures …drag out some picture books …

Then, today  a package arrived from my dear friend, Peabody, from Washington state where they have real Fall foliage. In the package …

Colorful thoughtfulness An explosion of brilliant color to inspire. All retrieved from the yard of a thoughtful friend that took the time to  go out,  hand pick some prime leaves, put them in a box and mail them to me for inspiration. The thought itself is as lovely as the leaves themselves. If that won’t brighten your day you might as well go back to bed and pull the covers over your head.

I grabbed some colors

Clay colorsLeft to right …gold, burnt umber, brown, pearl green, copper. cadmium red, neon yellow.

And made some stuff

Cat tail / pendant

and played with color.

fallcol1.jpg

Thank you for a bright and beautiful day dear Peabody!

Speaking of Fall … from a native Floridian’s point of view

Florida is lovely in the Fall which is why folks from up north migrate here during the winter months. I suspect that not having to shovel snow is one of the main reasons for that.

I decided to head out to the backyard and take a few photos to show some of the other reasons Florida is so fine in the Fall.

 Orchid        Croton         Orchid 2

 

wicked tree 

 Above is my most favorite tree in the neighborhood

. . .  perfect for

HALLOWEEN !!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 20:57:04

    I thought about sending you some leaves from lovely NH. Glad Peabody did more than just think about it! lol
    I love your cattail plaque. At least it looks like a plaque to me. Makes me want to clay play!

    Reply

  2. Peabody
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 21:34:27

    I have been in your beautiful state of Florida in the fall time.The weather is awesome not cold not too hot.I understand why people like to winter over there.Love the flower from your yard and the art that was inspired by fall colors.One of these days I will be back in Florida and we will have to get together. Big Hugs,Peabody

    Reply

  3. lunytuner
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 02:51:13

    Thank you my darlin’ Peabody! Those orchids in the photos are over 14 years old and still going strong. I’ll be looking forward to “one of these days” …did I mention the weather is really great …NOW! lol!
    hugs, luny

    Reply

  4. lunytuner
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 03:08:06

    Hey Deb! It’s the thought that counts, honey, and I appreciate you keeping me in your thoughts! Did you know that I lived in NH for ten years? Nashua, NH. It IS lovely but I sure love my Florida home.
    Thank you for your compliment on the cattails …I really don’t know exactly what it is yet but it was fun to play with the colors and since it made you want to go play with some clay I’m doing the happy dance big time!
    hugs,luny :}

    Reply

  5. Lori Winkler
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 01:40:13

    Mom, really pretty site. You always did so beautiful on the layout, wording and well…having it all together! You rock MOM. I LOVE YOU. *Sunshine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

