The road less traveled

The polymer clay world is positively overflowing with many talented and well known artists. We read about them all the time. We follow their successes, cheer them on and are thankful for all they have done to teach, encourage and inspire us. They have given back so much to the clay community and have rightfully earned their place in the spotlight and deserve to be respected and admired.

On the other hand, there are many, many more talented artists that don’t have their names up in lights . . . yet. Most folks may never have heard of them and I would like to do my little bit to change that. I’m not really sure what I’m doing with a blog anyway since I’m one of those that charge ahead with nothing but an idea and a “semi-plan”. It’s like leaving the house knowing you’ve got your knickers on but not quite sure if you’ve got them on inside out or right side in. You’re covered but a bit lacking in style.

With hopes of improving my sense of style I would like to introduce you to some interesting and talented folks you may not know.

Karin . . . “Kay”, a lovely and delightful artist from South Africa

Kay is an amazing polymer clay miniaturist specializing in mini foods. Sometimes I wonder if she secretly has a miniature army of little elves and gnomes hidden in a tiny factory somewhere. This girl can pump out some of the most yummy and delicious mini foods faster than a speeding bullet!

 Kay is a member and a moderator of CITY-O-CLAY where I have also been a happy member for many years. She is generous in helping others and sharing her techniques and how to lessons.

To find out more about this very talented lady you can check out her BLOG  and where you can also find some of her tutorials. You can see many fine examples of her work at her Flikr album Kay’s Miniatures  Bring a napkin – you WILL drool!  Kay also sells her wonderful miniatures and may be contacted at  kaydown62@yahoo.com  for more information.

 

Gosh, now that wasn’t so bad.  I think I can do this . . .  now that I’ve got a reason to blog I might just stick with it. The hardest part is deciding who my next victim, uh …  ‘guest’ will be. No easy task as there are so many artists that I want you to meet.  Oh well, nothing like a good challenge to get the blood pumping!

Stay tuned. . .

 hugs, luny ♥                                                                               

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lunes
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 20:33:29

    Great to see you profiling the “less famous”.
    Why not come and join us on the European Forum (more details on my blog) and also the Euro Carnival in France 2009. Good luck with the blogging! Kylee

    Reply

  2. lunytuner
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 00:29:11

    Hello Kylee … oh my gosh – I didn’t even know people read my blog! Wow! And from France too! Woo-hoo! Thank you for taking notice. I took a quick jaunt over to your ‘place’ and was very impressed so I’ll be heading back for a longer visit this evening! (I want one of those mirrors too,lol!)
    Ah yes, the “less famous” … I’ve seen such great art and imagination from folks I’ve met on my clay journey and I wanna make them shine so it seems a fitting thing to use this blog as a tool for that purpose!
    Thanks again, Kylee. I appreciate it that you took the time to comment!
    hugs, “luny” michele

    Reply

  3. Karin
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 05:14:22

    Hey Miss Luny,

    Thank you for the kind comments sweetness. Still think you’re prejudiced! Blog looks really good. HUGS

    Reply

  4. lunytuner
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 03:32:09

    Hey there Kay darlin’! Thank you! And of course I’m predjudiced but that doesn’t alter the fact that you are one mighty fine mini maker!
    Big hugs :>

    Reply

  5. Lunes
    May 12, 2008 @ 08:29:36

    Hey Luny – of course I read your blog – I have even tagged you today! Have a look at Studio Snapshot! Kylee

    Reply

  6. Luny
    May 13, 2008 @ 02:30:20

    Hey Kylee! Oh my gosh …I’ve been tagged for studio duty.I have such a grand studio, yeah-right,LOL… if you can call a huge door converted into a worktable and lots of plastic storage bins to store stuff a “studio” it might be passable … we’ll just call it “Studio Lite”. However I do have the good fortune of having a whole room to myself where I can pursue my creative madness. I’ll see if I can scare up a few photos and get them posted! Thanks so much for the tag and for helping to get my link out and about!
    Also, let me just say that I absolutey love your new work …”Seeing Blues”. They make my mouth water!
    big hugs, luny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

