Half Moon Quickie Hollow Beads

Jennny girl . . . this bead’s for you!

Jenny, from Craft Test Dummiesleft me a nice comment about the half moon beads I’ve been noodling with (thank you Jenny)….                 

She mentioned that they looked “complicated”. Not so. In fact, they are really easy to do. Here’s a really quick how-to …

Condition clay and roll on #1 setting on pasta machine. Using a circle cutter of your size choice ( 1and 5/8 inch size is what is used here) and cut out the circle. . . 

 Fold one side of circle to other side of circle and slightly pinch the sides together in middle … continue to gently press the clay together around the edges until they are sealed and finish by smoothing the seam…

Make two holes in the bead at the “straight” fat end going through both sides …

Using the first bead as a guide for hole placement, align another bead next to it as shown and push the needle through the already made holes to place “marks” on the new bead to show where you want to make the holes … the photo below shows the needle all the way through both beads but that is just to show that they will line up well. Don’t push the needle tool through both beads at the same time … each bead will need to be done one at a time and always using the first bead as a marker. There are other ways to precisely mark the holes but this is fast and easy and works for a practice quickie! LOL!

Now all that’s left to do is bake, sand, buff and string. I know this is a quick zippity-doo-dah explanation but if you have any questions just give me a holler! I promise I’ll help!

Please be sure to visit Jenny’s Craft Test Dummies  site. She is a delightful and humorous writer and her site is informative, interesting and helpful!

Thanks for being here ..

hugs, luny

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    May 16, 2008 @ 12:39:21

    Thanks so much for the “shout out” and the tutorial! I’m hoping to get some clay time next week, and I’m definitely trying these out. I just might make up a sheet or two of Makume Gane and try it out. Thanks so much, and I really love your work- and your blog.
    We are now members of the Mutual Admiration Society!-Jenny at CraftTestDummies.com

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Luny’s Half-Moon Beads | Craft Test Dummies
  3. Luny
    May 16, 2008 @ 18:14:32

    Yowser Jenny! Nothing wrong with mutual admiration – I say we ALL need more of it these days. I’m gobsmacked proud to be mentioned in your blog – made my day, it did! Serious thanks Missy Jenny!
    Can’t wait to see your half mooners … doing them in Mokume Gane would be genius…it’s so “delicious” and rich looking and would lend itself perfectly for these type of beads. I know they are going to be gorgeous!
    hugs, luny

    Reply

  4. Cindy Lietz, Polymer Clay Tutor
    May 16, 2008 @ 23:57:03

    Neat shape Luny! So much potential… mokume gane, rubber stamping, canes slices, marbling, gold leaf… mmmm could be a lot of fun!!!

    Reply

  5. lgdesigns
    May 17, 2008 @ 20:26:12

    Well, Miss Luny I was lookin around and found this mentioned on Crafty Test Dummies. I love the tute. It is short and sweet. The is the way I like most things. Your blog is looking great. I have my table all clean off so I think I will try to do some of these. Thanks, Hon.

    Reply

  6. Luny
    May 17, 2008 @ 21:47:20

    “Igdesigns” … well thanks so much for hoppin’ over here and checking things out, honey! I really do appreciate it. I think you lucked with this tute being short and quick as I usually do overkill when doing a tute but I was pretty dang excited when Jenny gave me a shout out and I got so pumped up I had to expend some energy somewhere, lol!
    I hope you try the half mooners and let me know how they turn out. I’ll even put up a pix of your beads if you want to share!
    hugs, luny

    Reply

  7. Marilyn Parigian
    May 18, 2008 @ 22:11:07

    Love this unique new shape, Luny. Thanks so much for the great tutorial.

    Reply

  8. Debbie Goodrow
    May 22, 2008 @ 02:23:07

    Great tute, thanks for sharing. I got here from Art for the Heart by Jeanne Rhea.

    Reply

  9. Kim Cavender
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 01:49:23

    Michelle, I think this is a wonderful bead shape and would lend itself to so many different surface designs. I hope you don’t mind that I mentioned you on my blog today. Thanks for sharing your great idea!

    Reply

  10. luny
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 02:32:14

    Oh my …THE Kim Cavendar? I think I just might faint! I certainly don’t mind being mentioned on your blog – I consider it an honor. These beads are fun and are driving me nuts with all the different things I want to do with them.
    Thank you so very much Kim. You made my day – and my night – and, and and ….

    hugs, luny

    Reply

  11. Lunes
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 11:59:04

    These are stunning thank you so much for sharing the tip too! Absolutely great! Kylee

    Reply

  12. lunytuner
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 03:29:44

    Thank you Kylee! I hope everyone feels free to take the idea and run with it. I would like to see what kind of spin other folks would put on them!
    hugs, luny

    Reply

  13. White Hot Magik
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 13:31:03

    Luny,

    I think I originally found you through Kim’s Blog. I really like this idea too and may have to try it sometime soon. In fact it was through here I found city of clay but then I guess I never commented. Thanks for the tutorial.

    Reply

  14. Leann P.Anderson
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 15:49:38

    Hi! I’m Leann. My friends call me LeeLee. I’m a 17 yr. poly-clay artist and am from a family of artisans. I’m a Native American, Texan, from Paris, Tx. I want to set up my own website soon. Do you have any suggestions for me? I can do a lot. I use to sew for the public, but got burnt out quick. I love to bead. I’ve made some awesome looking beads and some of them, I kept. I’ve sculpted, made vessels, covered a lot of things, etc. My brother’s friend, in the Dallas area, is an artist. He said he would help me. I’m anxious to get started. Can’t wait. But how much more patience do I have?! None.
    I’ve got a really nice camera and am ready to go!!!
    Any suggestions would sincerely be appreciated.

    Thank you, thank you.

    Sincerely, LeeLee

    Reply

  15. Garlinda Price
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 14:33:16

    I love your bracelet and you are so sweet to share your tutorial, I hope to get good enough to share how to picks. I am Garlinda and I look forward to coming to your blog.

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Pulsera con cuentas de pasta Fomi - Las Manualidades
  17. maxima
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 18:06:27

    estoy encantada, muy bien,son fantasticas y muy facil su elaboracion.
    muchas gracias

    Reply

  18. Trena
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 11:40:08

    I’ll immediately clutch your rss as I can’t to find
    your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any?
    Kindly permit me know so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    Reply

  19. ver fotos de naruto
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 12:32:32

    Wow, awesome weblog format! How long have you been blogging
    for? you make blogging look easy. The whole glance of your web
    site is excellent, let alone the content material!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

